SJR Alumni Making Headlines

posted: Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Today, we were happy to see some of our alumni making the news! We wanted to congratulate Jennifer Botterill ’97, former national women’s hockey star, whose name was unveiled yesterday as one to be inducted into the Manitoba Hockey Hall of Fame, along with some former NHL players. The Hall of Fame’s induction ceremony will take place this October.

“It’s a huge honour for me,” says Jennifer, who won five gold medals and three silvers at eight world championship appearances, as well as earning three Olympic gold medals and one silver during her career.

“To hear everyone’s stories – everyone’s story was so impressive – of what they had accomplished in their lives and their hockey careers; to think about everybody’s connection to Manitoba – that’s pretty special. And so, for me, there hasn’t been a day where I’ve been more proud to be a Manitoban.”

Jennifer has retired from the game, but still works in television. She is currently based in Toronto.

Another alumnus making headlines this week is David Asper ’76, whom Mayor Bowman announced as his pick to become the next chairman of the Winnipeg Police Board.

David is currently chairman of the Asper Foundation and chairman and co-founder of Amenity Health Care. Formerly, he served as chairs of the Winnipeg Folk Festival, the Winnipeg Football Club, and as the first citizen chairman of CentreVenture.

David wasn’t Mayor Bowman’s only pick: he also wants to fill another board vacancy with Brian Scharfstein ’71, owner of Canadian Footwear. Brian is a pedorthist as well as principal owner of the FootHealth Centre in Winnipeg and Calgary. He is also former chairman of the Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce.

If approved by council, the appointments of both alumni will be effective immediately, with their terms expiring on December 31, 2018.

Congratulations to Jennifer, David, and Brian!